Just Another Manic Workday!

I’v been sick.

And depressed.

And depressed by the sickness.

And sick of being depressed.

And at home for the last 4 days. 4 days while the sickness and depression cycle drove everyone else nuts. The husband learnt a new thing . That he might have been fraudulently married off to a 4 year old ankle-biter instead of whom he’d thought to be his smart and sexy wife.

So what actually happened? I caught the Viral flu. Bugging combination of cold, fever and cough. With each trying to outdo the other. So while the fever threatened to explode the mercury right out from the thermometer, the cold decided that the mouth could do the nose’s job of breathing and was thus to be rendered useless, and the cough held the throat to ransom. The husband was rather happy for a bit that I remained unequipped to talk, but later discovered that making me talk and calling me ‘Minnie Mouse’ gave him more pleasure. This was when he realized that a sick wife is never to be messed with. He’s doing the dishes for a year now.

I’ve also come to the conclusion that my career is stuck in a deep swamp. The least said the better there. But depression is what I went into. Avoided people, except for the husband who is now applying for a refresher course in Sanity to make up for the mind he’s now lost. But who has also sweetly assured me that he would be fine if I decide to sit home and cook for him. Cook for him. See. I told him that. Now you know HOW depressed I was!

Never mind. I’m back now. The battle against fever was won by the large, frightening tablets of Crocin. Cold and Cough are still rampant, but this is because the beer-loving immune system complains about the piddly-rationed doses of Benedryl.

I’m trying Brandy tonight. In large doses. That should combat Depression as well!

75 thoughts on “Just Another Manic Workday!

  1. Aww hugs Meira! Thank God the fever hs run away!

    This depression just does not suit my chirpy, bubbly friend 😦 Pls pls drive it away! I hope the brandy helps! Cheers for tonite 🙂 Have a nice time 🙂

      1. He he nope 🙂 But I do wish it works for u 😉

        But write that boss’s name on a paper and tear it into pieces 😛 or scratch it badly .. thatz something I hv done 😉 Even before I saw JWM 😉 It works 😉

              1. what!!!!
                I want to take lil P there when she turns 5 🙂 its a nice kiddie friendly place! I spent 10 hrs twice at the singapore airport!!! damn.. soo want to see it.

  2. And what a coincidence, I have also been through this combo of cold-cough-fever last week :(. It drove me crazy, too!! Sweet husband cooked and cleaned and worked and cooked and cleaned. Life’s little joys 😛

  3. Damn not even second 😦

    Get well soon 🙂

    and I get that your Husband got the message “Never mess with a sick woman” Pun intended 😛

  4. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww .. poor u.. But i rather feel sorry for the Husband more! Hang in there. Brandy will help.. else call ur mom over! that works! .. glad u r feeling better now. Office swamps n monsters need a strong (dose of) meira to be silenced. Prepare for battle!! n yay!! u r back. Missed u. N get well soon.
    Lots of hugs n kisses..

  5. {{{super tight hugs}}}

    Good the fever has run away! The cold and cough will go too!
    The depression, have you tried happy reading? Like comics, or re-reading a book you really liked?
    That helped a friend…

    Hugs! Hope the Brandy helps! 😉

    Take care girl! Do let me know if you need the resume to be forwarded around…

  6. Tch..Tch.. 🙂 I can picture TS’s situation 🙂
    Definitely try the brandy thing, it will work one way or the other !!
    That should chase the depression as well as the fever away 🙂

  7. Oh !!! Meira !!!! Hugs to you !!! You were not well ???? All ok now ???? Healthy and fit, I hope !!!!

    Missed your posts !!!!

    Of course, Brandy is the best – just go for it !!!!

    For a beer loving person like you, little dosages of Benedryl – How insensitive !!!!! 😆 😆 😆

    Now, back to blog world – pl enlighten with your TSism !!!!!

  8. Hey…get well super-soon!!!

    Btw, though the post is all rants and ramblings – it is hilarious!!

    So sorry for lol’ing this one. But it sure deserves it. So here goes..

    LOL 😀

  9. Hope u must be fine by now 🙂

    Anyways happy hours cant be sad..thought this post is abt sickness and depression but its hilarious..i cant control my laughter 🙂

  10. Meira, you are a big cheer for all your readers…your posts bring a smile always.Just shrug it off – the boss, the fever and dont let them dampen your spirits 🙂

  11. Awwww….so sorry! I hope brandy would have done its magic by now….take it with warm water for best effect!
    “Hubby doing the dishes for the whole year!”…..COOL 😉 Nice post!

  12. Get well soon girl…hope the dava-daru works wonders. Though never tried it myself. Take a break and go on a holiday to Goa, a sure shot cure for depression and everything else. The abundance of beer helps too.

Leave a comment